PSI Structural Biology Knowledgebase

PSI | Structural Biology Knowledgebase
Header Icons

id="title" class="nomar"Center for Membrane Proteins in Infectious Diseases

The MPID is a PSI Membrane Protein Structure Determination Center, and consists of investigators from Arizona State University and the University of Limerick.

MPID Investigators

  • Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, USA
    Petra Fromme
    James Allen
    Martin Caffrey
    Giovanna Ghirlanda
    Brenda Hogue
    Sudhir Kumar
    Joshua LaBaer
    Tsafrir Mor
    Kathryn Sykes
    Rebekka Wachter
    Neal Woodbury
    Sefika Banu Ozkan
  • University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
    Martin Caffrey

Contact Information

Petra Fromme
pfromme@asu.edu

James Allen
JAllen@asu.edu

Martin Caffrey
martin.caffrey@tcd.ie

Giovanna Ghirlanda
Giovanna.Ghirlanda@asu.edu

Brenda Hogue
Brenda.Hogue@asu.edu

Sudhir Kumar
s.kumar@asu.edu

Joshua LaBaer
Joshua.Labaer@asu.edu

Tsafrir Mor
tsafrir.mor@asu.edu

Kathryn Sykes
Kathryn.Sykes@asu.edu

Rebekka Wachter
Rebekka.Wachter@asu.edu

Neal Woodbury
NWoodbury@asu.edu

Sefika Banu Ozkan
sefika.ozkan@asu.edu

Research Description

The MPID Center for membrane protein structure determination is focused on membrane proteins involved in infectious diseases.. It aims to determine the structures of membrane proteins involved in viral and bacterial pathogenesis. Membrane proteins represent >60% of all drug targets and they are also key players in the pathogenesis of infectious diseases. A critical step toward elucidation of the complex processes that are catalyzed by membrane proteins is the understanding of their structure, dynamics and function. The Center is focused on important pathogen membrane proteins, their infection pathways, and human membrane proteins involved in host interaction with the pathogens. Results and structures determined by the Center will provide the structural basis for unraveling of molecular mechanisms involved in pathogenesis at the atomic level. The structure determination of target proteins can provide important clues to help understand infectious disease pathways with high relevance for human health and insight toward development of treatment platforms. The major goal of the Center is to use membrane proteins from viral and bacterial pathogens that cause significant infectious diseases as the basis for determination of novel membrane protein structures and to develop new technologies to increase the throughput of membrane protein structure determination.

The MPID center is very interested in working with researchers/scientists on structure determination of membrane proteins involved in infectious pathways of pathogens. If you are working on a membrane protein involved in infectious diseases and are interested in collaborating with the MPID center please contact us via E-mail at pfromme@asu.edu; please also cc the manger of the MPID center Tina Esquerra at tine.esquerra@asu.edu.

Structures, Targets, Publications and Technologies

Structural Biology Knowledgebase ISSN: 1758-1338
Funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health